February 9 - 11, 2018

Registration opens January 24 and closes February 7 .

Friday PM - February 9  ||  7-9pm Pacific10pm-12am Eastern
Appreciation Training

Leader: Shinzen Young
Type of Program: Deepening
Prerequisites: Previous experience with Note Everything
Fee: $10 per person

In this program, you will deepen your ability to work with sensory experience by cycling through:

  • The Big Picture (using Note Everything);
  • Exploration of individual modalities (using Just See, Just Hear, and Just Feel).

Preparation:

In preparation for this retreat, please:


Saturday AM - February 10 ||  8am-12pm Pacific / 11am-3pm Eastern
Transcendence Training

Leader: Shinzen Young 
Type of Program: Foundations
Prerequisites: None
Fee: $20 per person

In this program, we’ll explore a deep experience of impermanence: “arising and passing”. This represents an approachable way to touch the formless perfection that precedes, follows, and pervades each sensory experience.

In preparation for this program, please:


Saturday PM - February 10  ||  1-5pm Pacific / 4-8pm Eastern
Noting: Advanced Perspective

Leader: Shinzen Young 
Type of Program: Special Offerings
Prerequisites: Previous experience with any technique that involved Noting.
Fee: $20 per person 

The noting approach to mindfulness was developed by the great Burmese master Mahasi Sayadaw in the early 20th century.  One of the Sayadaw’s main goals was to give householders a way of maintaining practice during their ordinary life activities. In the unified mindfulness system, Mahasi’s innovation has been expanded, systematized and rigorized.  During this program, Shinzen will detail his latest formulation regarding options associated with the noting approach.  The information covered here will be broadly applicable to many techniques - note everything, focus in, focus out, focus on rest . . .

In preparation for this retreat, please:


Sunday AM - February 11 ||  5-9am Pacific / 8am-12pm Eastern
Focus Out

Leader: Shinzen Young 
Type of Program: Special Theme
Prerequisites: Some previous experience with Noting
Fee: $20 per person

Learn how to focus on physical sights, physical sounds, and physical body sensations. In daily life, we are constantly looking, listening, and moving the body. The Focus Out technique will allow you to stay deep and anchored even while going about complex activities such as driving, working, or talking to people. It’s a systematic and tangible way to experience the Power of Now.

In preparation for this program, please:


Sunday PM - February 11  ||  10am-2pm Pacific / 1-5pm Eastern
Be Good

Leader: Shinzen Young 
Type of Program: Special Offering
Prerequisites: None
Fee: $20 per person

In this program, we will explore working with the realm of archetypes. This is related to such diverse practices as Tibetan “Deity Yoga” and the traditional Catholic rosary.  Ordinarily, image space, talk space and emotional body space randomly fluctuate.  With the ‘Be Good’ practice, you selectively attend to image, talk and body emotion that are directly related to a personal ideal of goodness.  As your concentration improves, you’ll

begin to identify with that ideal. This simultaneously achieves the two central goals of contemplative practice: transcending yourself and refining yourself.  It’s transcendence because you gain insight into the arbitrary nature of the self-identification process.  It’s refinement because the way you do that strengthens positive tendencies within you.

Be Good is one of the four core techniques in the positivity family.  The other members of the family are See Good, Hear Good, Feel Good.

In preparation for this program, please: