November 16 - 18, 2016

Registration opens October 31 and closes November 14.

Friday PM - November 16  ||  7-9pm Pacific10pm-12am Eastern
Noting: Advanced Perspective

Leader: Shinzen Young
Type of Program: Special Offering
Prerequisites: Previous experience with any technique that involved Noting.
Fee: $10 per person 

The noting approach to mindfulness was developed by the great Burmese master Mahasi Sayadaw in the early 20th century.  One of the Sayadaw’s main goals was to give householders a way of maintaining practice during their ordinary life activities. In the unified mindfulness system, Mahasi’s innovation has been expanded, systematized and rigorized.  During this program, Shinzen will detail his latest formulation regarding options associated with the noting approach.  The information covered here will be broadly applicable to many techniques - note everything, focus in, focus out, focus on rest . 

In preparation for this retreat, please:


Saturday AM - November 17  ||  8am-12pm Pacific / 11am-3pm Eastern
Transcendence Training: Introduction to Expansion and Contraction

Leader: Shinzen Young 
Type of Program: Foundations
Prerequisites: None
Fee: $20 per person

In this program, we’ll explore a deep experience of impermanence: “arising and passing”. This represents an approachable way to touch the formless perfection that precedes, follows, and pervades each sensory experience.

In preparation for this program, please:


Saturday PM - November 17  ||  1-5pm Pacific / 4-8pm Eastern
Focus Out

Leader: Shinzen Young 
Type of Program: Special Theme
Prerequisites: Some experience with Noting
Fee: $20 per person 

Learn how to focus on physical sights, physical sounds, and physical body sensations.  In daily life, we are constantly looking, listening, and moving the body. The Focus Out technique will allow you to stay deep and anchored even while going about complex activities such as driving, working, or talking to people. It’s a systematic and tangible way to experience the Power of Now.

In preparation for this program,


Sunday AM - November 18  ||  5-9am Pacific / 8am-12pm Eastern
The Black Hole of Primordial Unfulfillment

Leader: Shinzen Young 
Type of Program: Special Offering
Prerequisites: None
Fee: $20 per person

Over the years I’ve noticed that some students report a distinctive phenomenon that represents a major impediment to their happiness.  It is by no means the case that everyone experiences this phenomenon. Among those who do, it sometimes may have been brought about by their practice.  On the other hand, many people say it’s something that’s been with them as long as they can remember.

Because the phenomenon is both well-defined and significant I thought it should have a name.  I call it the ‘The Black Hole of Primordial Unfulfillment’.  It’s the perception that there’s a kind of emptiness in the core of one’s being.  But it’s not shunyata, - the good emptiness that Buddhism speaks of.  Rather it’s a profound and seemingly eternal sense of dissatisfaction. It carries with it the conviction that it will never go away no matter what you do.  No amount of good things in your life, no amount of sensual pleasure seems to touch it. But worst of all, no amount of meditation progress seems to help either! 

Actually though, there are effective ways to work with it in practice.  The purpose of this program is to clarify that. 

In preparation for this program, please:


Sunday PM - November 18  ||  10am-2pm Pacific / 1-5pm Eastern
Appreciation Training: Going Deeper into See, Hear, Feel

Leader: Shinzen Young 
Type of Program: Deepening
Prerequisites: Previous experience with Note Everything
Fee: $20 per person

In this program, you will deepen your ability to work with sensory experience by cycling through:

  • The Big Picture (using Note Everything);
  • Exploration of individual modalities (using Just See, Just Hear, and Just Feel).

In preparation for this retreat, please: