October 26 - 28, 2016

Registration opens Oct 10 and closes Oct 24

Friday PM - October 26  ||  7-9pm Pacific10pm-12am Eastern
Title: TBA

Leader: Christina Graham
Type of Program: TBA
Prerequisites: TBA
Fee: $10 per person 

Description: TBA


Saturday AM - October 27  ||  8am-12pm Pacific / 11am-3pm Eastern
Awake Body, Tender Heart, Open Mind:  Bringing Mindful Presence to Day-to-Day Interactions

Leader:  Chris Trani
Type of Program:  Special Offering
Prerequisites: None
Fee: $20 per person

Inspired by writings on relational mindfulness and, more specifically, mindful communication, this program will offer an exploration of several Unified Mindfulness techniques that can support us and serve us in bringing certain qualities to our daily contact with others and with the world around us.

In preparation for this program, please:


Saturday PM - October 27 ||  1-5pm Pacific / 4-8pm Eastern
Title: TBA

Leader:  Adam Coutts
Type of Program: TBA
Prerequisites: TBA
Fee: $20 per person 

Description - TBA


Sunday AM - October 28  ||  5-9am Pacific / 8am-12pm Eastern
Cultivating Internal Friendliness

Leader:  Daron Larson
Type of Program: Special Offering
Prerequisites: Some previous experience with Do Nothing, Focus In and Nurture Positive techniques.
Fee: $20 per person

Forcing ourselves to express friendliness towards challenging people is about as realistic as trying to force ourselves to stop thinking or feeling. It doesn’t usually go well. The current cultural environment of political polarization and tribalism can increase the level of difficulty exponentially. 

The Unified Mindfulness framework provides several practical tools and insights for expressing emotions in liberating ways. Instead of trying to feel things we don’t feel, this session explores ways to become more familiar with our emotional activations in real time and to fight with them less. We will also discuss emotional expression and suppression.

In preparation for this program, please read the following sections from Shinzen’s manual “Five Ways to Know Yourself”: 

  • Introduction to Basic Mindfulness, pp. 7-17 
  • Chapter 1 - The Way of Thoughts and Emotions, pp. 21-25
  • Chapter 3 - The Way of Tranquility (Do Nothing), pp. 40-44
  • Chapter 5 - The Way of Human Goodness, pp. 67-71

Sunday PM - October 28  ||  10am-2pm Pacific / 1-5pm Eastern
Title: TBA

Leader:  Janusz Welin
Type of Program: TBA
Prerequisites: TBA
Fee: $20 per person

Description: TBA