January 12 - 14, 2018

Registration opens December 27 and closes January 10.

Friday PM - January 12  ||  5-7pm Pacific / 8-10pm Eastern
Going Deeper into Visual Experience

Leader: Shinzen Young
Type of Program: Deepening
Prerequisites: Previous experience with at least one of the techniques listed below
Fee: $10 per person 

You will be guided through several exercises designed to hone and strengthen your ability to work with visual experience, including:

  • Just See: Work with all visual experience.
  • See In: Detect the presence or absence of visual thought.
  • See Out: Anchor in the Now of physical sights.
  • See Rest: Enjoy inner and outer visual rest states.
  • See Flow: Explore the dynamic side of visual experience.
  • See Good: Create positive visualizations.

In preparation for this program, please:


Saturday AM - January 13  ||  5-9am Pacific / 8am-12pm Eastern
Appreciation Training

Leader: Shinzen Young 
Type of Program: Foundations
Prerequisites: None
Fee: $20 per person

In this program, we’ll explore the Appreciation theme from ULTRA (Universal Library for TRaining Attention). You’ll learn four core techniques for working individually and collectively with all sensory experience:

  • Just See: Monitor all visual experience;
  • Just Hear: Monitor all auditory experience;
  • Just Feel: Monitor all body experience;
  • Note Everything: Work with any and all sensory experience.

With practice, this will allow you to experience whatever comes up with radical fullness.

In preparation for this program, please:


Saturday PM - January 13  ||  10am-2pm Pacific / 1-5pm Eastern
Mini Cross Training

Leader: Shinzen Young 
Type of Program: Cross Training
Prerequisites: Previous experience with Note Everything, Auto Move, Be Source and Feel Good
Fee: $20 per person 

In this program, we’ll work with four techniques:

  • Note Everything - Work with any and all sensory experience.
  • Auto Move - Tune into spontaneity as you walk, move, dance, etc.
  • Be Source – Focus on Expansion & Contraction in all your senses.  
  • Feel Good - Create and hold pleasant emotional sensations in the body.

In preparation for this program, please:


Sunday AM - January 14  ||  8am-12pm Pacific / 11am-3pm Eastern
Motion Challenge

Leader: Shinzen Young 
Type of Program: Drill/Accelerator
Prerequisites: Previous experience with at least one Unified Mindfulness technique
Fee: $20 per person

People often complain that they’re able to get in deep states during formal practice but are not able to maintain those states in daily life. There’s a lot to be said about this but one suggestion is to work smart by creating for yourself “motion challenge sequences.” The idea is simple. Take any meditation technique you relate to and attempt to maintain it through a sequence of progressively more challenging and/or complex activities. Stay with each stage for however long it takes you to get as deep as you were in the previous stage.

Here's an example. Do a technique of your choice while...

  1. Lying down
  2. Seated eyes closed
  3. Seated eyes open
  4. Standing
  5. Slow walking
  6. Faster walking
  7. Walking in a sensorially impactful environment
  8. Doing simple exercises
  9. Doing more complicated exercises
  10. Washing dishes
  11. Cooking a simple meal
  12. Cooking a more complicated meal
  13. Carrying on a vacuous conversation
  14. Watching low-impact TV
  15. Watching high-impact TV
  16. Carrying on a substantive conversation
  17. Carrying on an emotionally charged substantive conversation

Your goal is to work up to the point where you can be as deep in situation #17 as you are in situation #1. It's like weight training, you build it up gradually. This may seem like an awful big homework assignment but you have the rest of your life to turn it in!

During this program, we will alternate periods of self practice in motion with periods of guidance and discussion.

In preparation for this program, please:

  • Think ahead about what types of tasks you will use as motion challenges during this program and prepare the environment if need be (see list in description or come up with your own). Consider having a clock or timer nearby to stay on
  • Read An Outline of Practice
  • Review any other relevant materials you'd like (recalling the prerequisite for this program)
  •  

Sunday PM - January 14  ||  1-5pm Pacific / 4-8pm Eastern
Focus In

Leader: Shinzen Young 
Type of Program: Special Theme
Prerequisites: Previous experience with Note Everything
Fee: $20 per person

In this program, you will learn to track your subjective experience in terms of visual thoughts (mental images), internal conversations (mental talk), and emotional body sensations. It’s about appreciating yourself just as you are – knowing yourself to death, loving yourself to death.

In preparation for this program, please: