March 23-25, 2016

Registration opens March 7 and closes March 21.

Friday PM - March 23  ||  5-7pm Pacific / 8-10pm Eastern
Strategies for Working with Challenging Body Sensations

Leader: Danny Morris
Type of Program: Special Offering
Prerequisites: None
Fee: $10 per person 

In this session we will explore weaving together multiple Unified Mindfulness techniques to meet difficult unpleasant sensations in the body. Many people, my self included at some point in their practice experience: Unpleasant flow, stuck or heavy sensations, strange sensations. something that is difficult to bring equanimity to. We will explore multiple options, weaving together and creating unique techniques to meet these challenges. These options will also be informed by a somatic psychology perspective on how stuck energy sequences through the body. We will use Unified Mindfulness techniques to understand this way of working in the body and allowing for purification to naturally process. 

In preparation for this program, please:

Saturday AM - March 24  ||  5-9am Pacific / 8am-12pm Eastern
Preparing to Work with Spaciousness

Leader:  Daron Larson 
Type of Program: Drill
Prerequisites: Some familiarity with See, Hear, Feel would be beneficial.
Fee: $20 per person

The theme of spaciousness is a great way to develop concentration, clarity, and equanimity, but it can be a bit intimidating at first. This session explores ways to tweak your standard See, Hear, Feel work to make spacious more accessible over time. 

In preparation for this program, please:

Saturday PM - March 24  ||  10am-2pm Pacific / 1-5pm Eastern
Mindfulness for an Office Workday

Leader: Adam Coutts
Type of Program: Special Offering
Prerequisites: General experience with meditation and mindfulness
Fee: $20 per person 

In this class we will discuss how to use meditative techniques to keep a work day feeling spacious and alive, specifically:

  • Meditative breaks during a work day, both large and small, dedicated and incidental
  • Awareness while working at a computer
  • Mindful riding in a commute vehicle

We will practice some techniques relevant to these topics and have some open discussion.

In preparation for this program, please:

  • have a headset/earpiece rig such that you can perform walking meditation and mindfulness while typing on a computer.  Please also be prepared to, if desired, share your personal experiences with mindfulness during an office work day.

Sunday AM - March 25  ||  8am-12pm Pacific / 11am-3pm Eastern
Intro to ULTRA

Leader:  Chris Trani
Type of Program:  Foundations
Prerequisites:  None
Fee: $20 per person

ULTRA (Universal Library for Training Attention) is Shinzen’s latest formulation of contemplative-based, psycho-spiritual   growth. It arranges all the world’s focus techniques into four broad themes:

  • Appreciate Self and World – Experience the senses with radical
  • Transcend Self and World – Contact something beyond the
  • Express Spontaneity – Develop energy, bounce, and creativity in what you do, say, and
  • Nurture Positivity – Selectively attend to positive emotion, rational thought, positive behaviors, or archetypal ideals. Refine your personhood, and be of service to others. 

 In addition to learning details about the new formulation, you will also have a chance to sample one representative technique from the Appreciate core training and one from the Nurture Positivity core

  • Just Hear, where we will observe any and all auditory experience,
  • Hear Good, where we will explore working with a mindful positive mantra.

By the end of this program, you will have a clear vision of how the world’s meditation techniques interrelate, and you will have learned two contrasting but complementary techniques for developing mindful awareness.

In preparation for this program, please:

Sunday PM - March 25 ||  1-5pm Pacific / 4-8pm Eastern
Our Senses are Already Awake

Leader: Janusz Welin
Type of Program: Special Offering
Prerequisites: Some familiarity with See/Hear/Feel would be beneficial.  This could would be challenging of a student had no familiarity
                             with See/Hear/Feel or Shinzen's system, but it would be possible.
Fee: $20 per person

I recently returned from a monastic retreat in Myanmar. While there, I was inspired by the raw nature of the environment and my practice began to shift towards greater awareness of the vibrant and animated quality of the senses. I was taken by the wonder of seeing that the senses are elaborate expressions, continuously reorganizing into complex and unique arrangements. This program will approach our senses as a kind of living organism and will be supportive for those who want to feel more inspired and grateful in their practice or who are interested in expanding their flow practice. 

In preparation for this program, please: