May 12 - 14, 2017

Registration opens April 26 and closes May 10.

Friday PM - May 12  ||  5-7pm Pacific / 8-10pm Eastern
Mindfulness for Creativity

Leader: Stephanie Nash
Type of Program: Special Offering
Prerequisites:  None.  (Although having some familiarity with the See/Hear/Feel technique, Rest States, Focus In, and Do Nothing may facilitate your experience.)
Fee: $10 per person

  • What gets in the way of creativity? 
  • How can we promote it? 

We will use mindful awareness, and specific application of the See-Hear-Feel technique to explore unlocking and cultivating the creative process.  

In preparation for this program:

If you have a particular project, issue, situation or relationship to which you would like to apply some creative thought, have that handy.  May work with more than one. Glancing through See Hear Feel: An Introduction may be helpful but is not required.


Saturday AM - May 13  ||  5-9am Pacific / 8am-12pm Eastern
Exploring Flow and Gone in Rest States

Leader: Michael W. Taft
Type of Program: Special Offering
Prerequisites: None, but previous experience with Flow and Rest would be helpful.
Fee: $20 per person

We are used to exploring Flow and Gone in Active States, but they are there in the Rest states also.  Exploring this is challenging, but very fun and fruitful.

There are no preparatory readings for this program.


Saturday PM - May 13 ||  10am-2pm Pacific / 1-5pm Eastern
Working with Mental Images

Leader: Michael W. Taff
Type of Program: Special Offering
Prerequisites: None, but previous experience with mental images would be helpful.
Fee: $20 per person 

Mental images offer a unique sensory modality for going deep into the mind, and perhaps even contacting the source.

There are no preparatory readings for this program.


Sunday AM - May 14  ||  8am-12pm Pacific / 11am-3pm Eastern
Intro to ULTRA

Leader: Chris Trani
Type of Program: Foundations
Prerequisites: None
Fee: $20 per person

ULTRA (Universal Library for Training Attention) is Shinzen’s latest formulation of contemplative-based, psycho-spiritual growth. It arranges all the world’s focus techniques into four broad themes:

  • Appreciate Self and World – Experience the senses with radical
  • Transcend Self and World – Contact something beyond the
  • Express Spontaneity – Develop energy, bounce, and creativity in what you do, say, and
  • Nurture Positivity – Selectively attend to positive emotion, rational thought, positive behaviors, or archetypal ideals. Refine your personhood, and be of service to others. 

In addition to learning details about the new formulation, you will also have a chance to sample one representative technique from the Appreciate core training and one from the Nurture Positivity core

  • Just Hear, where we will observe any and all auditory experience,
  • Hear Good, where we will explore working with a mindful positive mantra.

By the end of this program, you will have a clear vision of how the world’s meditation techniques interrelate, and you will have learned two contrasting but complementary techniques for developing mindful awareness.

In preparation for this program, please:


Sunday PM - [Month Date]  ||  1-5pm Pacific / 4-8pm Eastern
Cultivating Internal Friendliness

Leader: Daron Larson
Type of Program: Special Offering
Prerequisites: Some previous experience with Do Nothing, Focus In, and Nurture Positive.
Fee: $20 per person

Forcing ourselves to express friendliness towards challenging people is about as realistic as trying to force ourselves to stop thinking or feeling. It doesn’t usually go well. Political polarization can increase the level of difficulty exponentially.  

But the Unified Mindfulness framework provides several practical tools and insights for expressing emotions in liberating ways. Instead of trying to feel things we don’t feel, this session explores ways to become more familiar with our emotional activations in real time and to fight with them less. We will also discuss emotional expression and suppression.

In preparation for this program, please:

  • Review the following sections from Five Ways to Know Yourself
  • Introduction to Basic Mindfulness, pp. 7-17
  • Chapter 1 The Way of Thoughts and Emotions, pp. 21-25
  • Chapter 3 The Way of Tranquility (Do Nothing), pp. 40-44
  • Chapter 5 The Way of Human Goodness, pp. 67-71